Working on a router remotely can be anxiety inducing. Where possible you'll probably want to avoid a late night trip to the datacenter or remote site due to a split second lapse in judgement. Most CLI based routers will let you set a time period to work within after which, if not confirmed, the configuration will roll back. For routers without this functionality built-in you can schedule a reboot in the future and commit the configuration as you work without saving. If something goes wrong and you loose connectivity, when the scheduled reboot runs, the system will revert to the last saved configuration. If your changes were problem free simply save the configuration before the scheduled reboot.
EdgeRouter Configuration Rollback:
[email protected]# commit-confirm n
'n' is the number of minutes in the future.
Once you're finished applying changes run confirm.